This week’s knitting and pottery

I went to my pottery class yesterday, not to attend, but to collect a few pots that were finished. I went on a few kilometres from there to walk on the beach with Ellie at low tide.

Oyster dish

My oyster shaped dish, about 20cm long

Oyster dish 2

I use these for serving a few freshly cooked shrimp, or tapas

Bol beau bleu

Round heavy blue bowl, about 12cms across

And this one, which I brought home in November I think:

Galaxy pot

"Galaxy" pot, about 40cm tall

I like it a lot, but I don’t quite know what to use it for. It is smoke fired on top of several layers of pinky and white enamel. It looks all bulgy at neck level, but it isn’t actually.

And then I have been knitting. A coat for my dachshund Ellie in case the weather turns cold. I didn’t realize she was so long. I measured but mostly just estimated. It looks a bit silly doesn’t it? And she very definitely didn’t like modelling it.

Ellie's sweater

Ellie's coat

Ellie modelling

Ellie modelling her new coat

Ellie cowl

And here she's showing how versatile it is, it can also be worn as a cowl...

I’ve also been spinning.

Spinning

Flower garden coloured batts for spinning

I ordered a few batts before Christmas, and they are spinning up well, the colours are very pleasing!

About OneFrenchWord

I was a professional linguist and have been a life-long foodie. I am now lucky enough to be retired and free to roam the beaches around my home at the tip of the Finistรจre (Brittany, France). Writing is occupying a larger place in my life, with this blog and a children's book in preparation. I shall feel much happier calling myself a writer when I have published a book. And so posts on OneFrenchWord will be published first as an e-book, my ambition being to see a glossy volume on French language and cuisine in print some day. So keep reading, and snap up the book when it appears!
This entry was posted in Knitteds, Pottery, Spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to This week’s knitting and pottery

  1. Cecile says:

    Love Ellie’s coat!!!! And the Galaxy pot, and the new picture at the top of the blog.

  2. remurray says:

    Wow, you’ve been busy and productive! The “oyster” bowls are very nice, but don’t you think you should serve oysters in them? Ha ha… and Ellie’s little “croque-monsieur” outfit is brilliant! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • crafthanded says:

      It’s only one oyster bowl, photographed twice (fooled you!), and it’s too small for oysters, I eat too many at a time!
      My poor little hot dog didn’t appreciate being “dressed up” at all. She found it all very undignified.

  3. Wow, very pretty ๐Ÿ™‚ The tall vase you could put some of that Stipa in it! ๐Ÿ˜€ hehehe I love that yarn your spinning, awesome colors. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • crafthanded says:

      Well I could, except that stipa tends to shed all over the place and I’d have my living room covered in fluff (hairspray, would that fix it?). Yes the yarn is a lovely colour, and the funny thing is that although the piece of wool I’m spinning from looks a good colour in the picture, most of it looks a pretty glum mid brown. But when the little bits of red, green and yellow get mixed up in it, it looks great. Spinning is a long job, especially with a spindle (I have a wheel but I couldn’t be bothered to get it out and set it up), but it’s really relaxing and meditative.

      • ahh shedding fluff not good on house care and when ya have pets. Hairspray should work. I think it’d look nice or get the decorative fake stuff from a local craft shop. I’d name a few but I don’t know if you have them over there. Anyways, I dislike when a camera can make things look better than they really are or worse for that matter. lol I haven’t tried spinning yet, I plan to pick up some unspune wool this summer at a local fair. I’m gonna try my hand at it then. I can get yarn at the local thrift stores fairly inexpensively and I got some come as a late christmas gift. YEA!! I can’t wait. I’ll take some pics and share ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. nuvofelt says:

    Love Ellie’s little coat. Tell her that she’s modelling it for a new fashion line, that will win her over!

    Spinning looks good. One day I’ll learn properly. I dye fibres, but use them on the embellisher.

  5. marshmallowfluffxo says:

    wow I love the galaxy pot and the other pottery. your knitting is great too. I love the colors you are spinning.

    • crafthanded says:

      Thank you! The colours are beautiful, but the quantity is small enough to be difficult to use. I think there is about 100gr (the equivalent of two balls of wool) in all. Socks? I already have too many wraps and scarves!

  6. Gigi Galore says:

    Absolutely gorgeous! Your work is so lyrical:)

  7. Thank you, not been doing so much lately!

  8. Kate Swaffer says:

    Yes I love Ellie’s coat too. With the appropriate doggie treats, she’ll get used to modelling for you!! I learnt to spin years ago, but these days it is beyond me, so I gave my spindle away.

Leave a Reply

