I’ve been painting a lot

It has been quite compulsive. But as oil paint takes such a long time to dry, finished canvasses are few and far between. Here are a few that are ready to be photographed (some are for sale in my Etsy shop).

"Blue Vase", oil on canvas

"Méridien Rouge", multimedia, acrylic on canvas, with map collage of Greenwich Meridian

"Frozen", acrylic on canvas

And here is Steve’s Christmas pullover that I couldn’t find yesterday:

About OneFrenchWord

I was a professional linguist and have been a life-long foodie. I am now lucky enough to be retired and free to roam the beaches around my home at the tip of the Finistère (Brittany, France). Writing is occupying a larger place in my life, with this blog and a children's book in preparation. I shall feel much happier calling myself a writer when I have published a book. And so posts on OneFrenchWord will be published first as an e-book, my ambition being to see a glossy volume on French language and cuisine in print some day. So keep reading, and snap up the book when it appears!
This entry was posted in Art, Knitteds and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I’ve been painting a lot

  1. Nico says:

    Very good that you put it on Facebook and very impressive!

  2. Hiya and thanks for following me! 🙂
    I really like the top painting of the flowers in a vase, very pretty 🙂
    BTW, I knit too. I also crochet, sew, write and of course take pictures. Altho that last one is no where near professional but neat none the less.
    Have a great day! 🙂

  3. nuvofelt says:

    Love the picture. Knitting makes me tense, I admire that you can do it so well.

  4. Beautiful paintings! Unfortunately, my artistic abilities stop at photography, but I wish this were not the case.

    • crafthanded says:

      Thank you Denzil. But photography is a complete art in itself. You have to look hard at things and analyze them, just as in painting. You have to create a feeling of reality, or on the contrary an illusion, just as in painting. I personally find photography much more challenging than picking up a paintbrush. I’m trying to improve with the photos I take for my food blog http://onefrenchword.wordpress.com but I know nothing of “settings” or photoshop. My son is a photographer, http://www.nicholasgooddenphotography.com (he takes photos very similar in nature to yours), and I learn from him how he sees things, how he discovers beauty everywhere. Your photos are magnificent (I love the one you have just posted of your girlfriend, who is beautiful, and the lovely little text you put with it!) I look forward to opening your blog each day.

  5. nuvofelt says:

    LOL, I’m just weird, I went to a knitting workshop once, the others couldn’t believe how stiff and tense I became the more I knitted! Now it’s just a short burst when I have to!

    • crafthanded says:

      Well, it can get one’s fingers tensed up when doing complicated things like lace or cables, but it relaxes the mind, it can wander where it will…

      • crafthanded says:

        Thank you so much. I think you found my blog through Tina’s nomination, congratulations to you too for being on her list of nominees! But my main blog is not this one, which is really to keep my family and friends up to date on what I am doing creatively, it is http://onefrenchword.wordpress.com, which I write daily and take very seriously. I’d appreciate your views on that one!

  6. Your wonderful paintings are so varied! You demonstrate expertise in a variety of media.

Leave a Reply

