A new year is about to begin, and I shall welcome it with Project 365

…Project 366 actually as there are 366 days in 2012.

Oh dear, has it really been three months that I have been silent? I have sooo much to write about, and loads of photos to post. I’ll catch up I promise.

But first of all PROJECT 365. WordPress has launched a project for next year to get us blogging each and every day. Now you may laugh a bit, given my very irregular habits, that I even consider blogging every day, but you never know, it may be just what is needed to get me back into the swing.

There are some pretty good ideas out there for a post a day, like a breakfast a day, photographing a stranger a day, photographing people in t shirts with funny logos… photography is a good idea, and just think, although you are probably going to get a lot of refusals from strangers, you might just meet (and stay in touch with) really interesting people. But I don’t think I can personally be bothered to go out and find a complacent stranger every day. On the other hand, I might manage a food photograph a day. Or what about a French word a day? I think I’m going to do that. And maybe a photo as well. Decisions, decisions. Oh well, I have a few hours left of this year to decide.

But I’ll also go back to the primary reason for this blog, which is showing all the things I am making, have made, art, knitting, sculpture and pottery. I’ll look out some photos this afternoon, and share them with you tomorrow. OK?

Here’s just one for today – a painting called “Goat grazing beside a stream”, which I completed in November. It’s quite a large oil on canvas, very thick and textured, done mainly with palette knives, just some brushwork. It started as a very dark background which I did with odd paint left on my palette. Then I added a bit of acid green and some flowers. I propped it up on my woodstove and looked at it for a while, thought I saw the beginning of a stream, with exuberant banks of summer vegetation, so I put that in. Then more flowers. Then I could clearly see the beginnings of a goat, so in she went. And then the waterlilies at the end. I like it, the colours are very vivid against a dark background. It is for sale in my etsy shop http://www.etsy.com/listing/86609729/goat-grazing-beside-a-stream-original

About OneFrenchWord

I was a professional linguist and have been a life-long foodie. I am now lucky enough to be retired and free to roam the beaches around my home at the tip of the Finistère (Brittany, France). Writing is occupying a larger place in my life, with this blog and a children's book in preparation. I shall feel much happier calling myself a writer when I have published a book. And so posts on OneFrenchWord will be published first as an e-book, my ambition being to see a glossy volume on French language and cuisine in print some day. So keep reading, and snap up the book when it appears!
This entry was posted in Art. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

