Do It Yourself Divas: DIY: Baby Rag Quilt turned into a Crafthanded quilted skirt

Quimper weather yesterday Sunday 4th September: cloudy morning, sunny midday (24°C) cloudy afternoon, rainy evening. Today it poured at about 8h00, now it’s sunny. 14°C

The schools go back in France today. Do other countries make such a fuss about schools going back? But I felt sorry for the children who were dragged out of bed early this morning and had to go to school in the pouring rain. For me,  schools going back means instant calm, hardly any tourists left, no one on the beach, easy parking in town.

I was just about to make myself a skirt Sunday morning (I had opted for a wrap around with several panels) when I happened upon this : Do It Yourself Divas: DIY: Baby Rag Quilt.

Her method is well explained and really easy. And I thought, this is meant to be a baby blanket but would work just as well for a skirt (warmer too, with cottons in winter, to quilt them). Although it may add bulk to my already bulky silhouette, if I pay attention to the cut, and the thickness (or non thickness) of the batting, I think I could make something fun and warm. Keep you posted!

About OneFrenchWord

I was a professional linguist and have been a life-long foodie. I am now lucky enough to be retired and free to roam the beaches around my home at the tip of the Finistère (Brittany, France). Writing is occupying a larger place in my life, with this blog and a children's book in preparation. I shall feel much happier calling myself a writer when I have published a book. And so posts on OneFrenchWord will be published first as an e-book, my ambition being to see a glossy volume on French language and cuisine in print some day. So keep reading, and snap up the book when it appears!
This entry was posted in Clothing, Sewing, Weather in Quimper and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

